Posted by: sommecourt | 24/03/2011

Walking Normandy

I’ve spent most of the last month or so in Normandy, partly working on the new BBC series Dig WW2, and the rest of the time walking the battlefield in preparation for my new book, Walking D Day. The walks have taken me well off the beaten track and it’s been interesting to see how many forgotten corners of the Normandy battlefield there are, even in supposedly well-known locations. It reminded me of when I was working on Walking The Somme back in the early 1990s. Then few people walked the Great War battlefields, and how that has now changed! Normandy is on the verge of the same sort of discovery – it gets many thousands of visitors but only a handful go off the prescribed routes and miss so much by sticking to the roads. This has been the main reason I wanted to put Walking D Day together; not to retell the story of 6th June once more, but point people in the direction of the dusty lanes, cart tracks and features tucked away across the D Day battlefields. It will be interesting in the lead up to the 70th Anniversary of the Normandy landings to see how battlefield visiting in the area changes.

A forgotten route to the vital Eastern Flank near Ranville.

Responses

  1. Can’t wait! I have the Salient one which I still go over time and time again, my interests are I suppose 70/30 in favour of WW1 & WW2.

    I like to feel that I’m honestly standing on or near a certain event or action, quite often it is hard to belive that now derelict or overly developed sites were scenes of such heroism


Leave a Reply

Categories

